So I have to admit I have a slight obsession with food! I love food more than people seem to realize. But what I love most about food is that it can become an art form. I’ve watched cooking shows for years, and the thing that always fascinates me is how the food is presented. I’m all about the presentation. Even if something taste horrible, if it looks good, you’re 1/2 way there.

One area of food that really blows me away is how crafty people can be is baking. Particularly with cupcakes and cakes. I’ve always had a thing for well decorated cakes, but my recent obsession with shows like Cake Boss, Cupcake Girls, DC Cupcakes  and Fabulous Cakes has really made me fall more in love with the idea of baking. Every time I watch these shows I’m blown away at how they transform a simple pastry into a work of art. Sometimes I say to myself, these cakes and cupcakes are too gorgeous to eat!! The details they put into the designs are amazing.

Firehouse cake

 
 
 
Once the cakes and cupcakes have been created, they are so full of life! It makes me look at food differently. These people take their craft very seriously. They invest a lot of time and I commend them on their creativity. These pastries aren’t something you see everyday. There’s nothing ordinary about these pastries at all.
 
 
DC Cupcake Girls
 
 
Fancy Cupcakes
 
These kinds of shows make me appreciate food as an art. It goes to show that art isn’t limited to just a paint brush or a sketch pad, but that art is life and all of its creativity.  These people push themselves to take the ordinary and make it extraordinary. You never know what inspires people, but I think their cakes and cupcakes are amazing. When you take food and make it an art form it’s a lot more fun to eat.  #yumm!  =)
About Alex McClain

Writing is a gift of mine that I enjoy sharing with others. What I love more than writing is the actual story, finding others who share the same passion as I do and discovering a certain creative energy in others. This is what keeps me inspired. Finding these people and telling their stories. I'm a senior at the University of North Florida in Jacksonville, fl. I'm a communications major with a concentration in print journalism. If you're interested in contacting me for any freelance work or you're interested in me writing about you for my blog email me at alexandra_mcclain1989@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

