Today I learned that in order to be great, we must have a drive. Something in us that propels us to push forward for our dreams. The drive has to be one that is inspiring, and a drive like that can’t come from anyone but God. I believe that God puts a drive in some people and they’re always going to be the ones fighting to do the things they love and always challenging themselves to reach new heights.

A prime example of this is Beyonce’.

 I stumbled across this video of her on YouTube  while searching for sound snippets from her latest album 4. There’s a saying that says “Live the life you love and love the life you live” and this video is the best example of this quote in action. The video is a behind the scenes look at her putting the final touches on the album. There’s something about Beyonce’ that you can tell that she has a drive and that she loves doing what she does. Whenever I see other people who are talented and driven that always inspires me. Below is the video and I hope after you watch it, that you are left with some sort of inspiration to go after a dream of your own.

“There’s plenty of days when I’m like ‘Oh God, why?’ But that’s just life. It’s every job, not just mine. Every moment is not perfect. But it’s definitely more good times than bad. You can’t even compare. And when I’m on stage it feels incredible. There are certain nights that you know you hit that crazy note and you know that spin spinned extra fast. And you look out and people are just into it and you’ve worked so hard and now it’s paying off and you can see why you dedicated your life to this.”  —– Beyonce’

 I wanna leave my footprints on the sands of time
Know there was something that, and something that I left behind
When I leave this world, I’ll leave no regrets
Leave something to remember, so they won’t forget

I was here…
I lived, I loved
I was here…
I did, I’ve done, everything that I wanted
And it was more than I thought it would be
I will leave my mark so everyone will know
I was here…

From “I Was Here” on her new album 4

About Alex McClain

Writing is a gift of mine that I enjoy sharing with others. What I love more than writing is the actual story, finding others who share the same passion as I do and discoverin g a certain creative energy in others. This is what keeps me inspired. Finding these people and telling their stories. I'm a senior at the University of North Florida in Jacksonville, fl. I'm a communications major with a concentration in print journalism. If you're interested in contacting me for any freelance work or you're interested in me writing about you for my blog email me at alexandra_mcclain1989@yahoo.com

2 responses »

  1. sincerelybri says:

    I’m so excited that you did a blog on this video! I watched this video about four days ago on WSHH and was immediately inspired by it. Beyonce’ is an amazing human being. She is very motivated and I admire her and envy her for the amount of energy she puts into her work. I feel that this video was a blessing that Beyonce’ has given to us. I am thankful that I was able to receive it. This video opened my eyes to finding what I love. I know that when I find what i love the drive, the energy, and the motivation will come second hand and I want nothing more than to give all of the love and loyalty that I have stirring around inside of me to something that I truly want in my life, MY PASSION. Second, this video reassured me and comforted me in taking the time that I needed to find myself and the thing that I really want to do in life. My path is my own and only I should be able to determine what road I take and how fast I travel that road. Taking the time to understand myself and knowing that it is okay to do what I want and now what others want for me (especially at this time in life) is a huge relief. Thank you, Beyonce’. =]

Leave a comment