The first time I fell in love with acoustic music was probably my 9th grade year of highschool. It was spring fest 2005 and a guy named Eric Day performed a orginal song he’d written playing the acoustic guitar. I’m into poetry and spoken word, so ever since then I always wanted to have someone play the acoustic  guitar as a background music  for the poems I write.

I’ve also wanted to learn how to play the acoustic guitar myself, but never had the chance. My parents thought it was just a phase, but I really enjoy acoustic music. I think there’s something creative and sexy about this type of music. The sound is still kind of raw and it factors out all the extra auto tune  and beats they do in the studio. I feel like acoustic music has to come from within a real place inside the artist.

Because acoustic music isn’t filled with over the top beats and overdone auto tune, it forces you to listen to what the artist is actually trying to say. With other types of music, everything else draws attention away from the actual lyrics and the meaning of the song gets lost in the sound.  When I listen to acoustic music I often feel like a free spirit. How cool would it be to pick up a guitar and create something inspiring from the heart? There’ s a mellow feeling I enjoy while listening to this type of music. It often inspires many poems I write. It makes me more conscious of the words I use to express what I really want to say.

On YouTube I discovered this girl named Light, I’ve been hooked on her ever since.

*By the way, not all songs are meant to be acoustic. particularly rap songs! Granted I’ve seen some pretty cool acoustic covers, but  the songs still sound best in their original format. However there is always one rap acoustic cover that I will never forget, probably one of my favorite covers ever ( I learned the words to Wacka Flocka’s “No Hands” listening to this version)

 

About Alex McClain

Writing is a gift of mine that I enjoy sharing with others. What I love more than writing is the actual story, finding others who share the same passion as I do and discovering a certain creative energy in others. This is what keeps me inspired. Finding these people and telling their stories. I'm a senior at the University of North Florida in Jacksonville, fl. I'm a communications major with a concentration in print journalism. If you're interested in contacting me for any freelance work or you're interested in me writing about you for my blog email me at alexandra_mcclain1989@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

