People often say there’s nothing like the original. However I feel that if a newer artist can remake a classic  song and make you feel the same way you felt about the original then that’s powerful. To me it says that the artist has a lot of talent, and the song itself will always be timeless in our culture.

There are a couple remakes that come to mind when people often question “who song it best?” So I’m posting the videos and putting them to test. You view the videos and let me know and we’ll see where the votes end up. Will the original stay true and timeless or will the remake give a new life to an old classic?  Either way it’s important to realize that every artist brings something different when they sing a song, and maybe it so happens that you many enjoy both versions for different reasons unique to each artists.

ETTA JAMES vs BEYONCE’ “All I Could do Was Cry”

JENNIFER HOLIDAY vs. JENNIFER HUDSON “And I’m Telling You”

JAMES BROWN vs. CHRISTINA AGUILERA “This is a Man’s World”

 

About Alex McClain

Writing is a gift of mine that I enjoy sharing with others. What I love more than writing is the actual story, finding others who share the same passion as I do and discovering a certain creative energy in others. This is what keeps me inspired. Finding these people and telling their stories. I'm a senior at the University of North Florida in Jacksonville, fl. I'm a communications major with a concentration in print journalism. If you're interested in contacting me for any freelance work or you're interested in me writing about you for my blog email me at alexandra_mcclain1989@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

