If you haven’t heard of Elle Varner then you’ve been missing out on a young lady with an unique voice and style of music. Originally when I heard her single “I Only Wanna Give it to You” with J.Cole, I felt like the tune was catchy, but I wasn’t sure if I was sold. After the seeing the video however, I became more intrigued.

I logged onto Youtube and did some research on her music and discovered  she had released a mixtape entitled “Conversational Lush” earlier this year in Janurary. After listening to a couple of tracks, it was clear that Varner had been flying under the radar.

After listening to a few tracks off the mix tape I felt like there was something different about her sound. It had an acoustic edge to it that helped to compliment the soft raspyness of her voice. As far as her voice, she’s been compared to Jazmin Sullivan, Estelle and Chrisette Michelle. I personally would compare her to a more edgy Corrine Bailey Rae with more soul and funk.

A song  I enjoyed in particular off the mix tape was “Refill,” which is currently hitting mainstream radio and doing pretty well. On the mix tape it plays out more like an interlude, but there’s been a radio edit that’s been making quite the buzz. Other songs I enjoyed listening to were “Ghost”, “Runaway” and “So Fly.” I also heard another song of her’s called “Sound Proof Room” but I’m not sure if it’s a listed track on the mix tape. (Log onto YouTube and check it out for yourself)

I think what I like most about her music is that it doesn’t seem to be the typical R&B. Even though she may hit on some typical topics, ” love, heartbreak, cheating, self-confidence” the approach and deliverance is different.  In her song “32 Flavors” she quotes herself as being  the “poster child without a poster“..well said. I think she has potential to do well and I’m interested in hearing her debut album “Imperfectly Perfect.”

Listen to her single with J.Cole “Wanna Give it 2 U”

 

take a listen to a couple of more tracks off the mix tape:

http://w.soundcloud.com/player/?url=http%3A%2F%2Fapi.soundcloud.com%2Fplaylists%2F1535310&show_artwork=true

About Alex McClain

Writing is a gift of mine that I enjoy sharing with others. What I love more than writing is the actual story, finding others who share the same passion as I do and discovering a certain creative energy in others. This is what keeps me inspired. Finding these people and telling their stories. I'm a senior at the University of North Florida in Jacksonville, fl. I'm a communications major with a concentration in print journalism. If you're interested in contacting me for any freelance work or you're interested in me writing about you for my blog email me at alexandra_mcclain1989@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

