Here’s a poetry piece by local Jacksonville poet and spoken word artist, Ja’Nica Collins. I met this young lady volunteering at the Boys and Girls Club in June and had to share some of her work. She’s only 17, but she has an awesome gift of words worth sharing.

FLOTION (Poetry in Motion)

Like the Civil rights movement

Poetry is in motion

It sings songs of freedom ring

Speak Poet Speak

Walking Down the Streets

With a vocal banner screaming poetry

Like a potion

It exhilarates words on our tongues

It’s like a firing torch

That shoots dart bullets

That pierces the heart

Rejuvenates the mind to the world of pondering

It is what I reckon to be poetry

Lead lines on paper

Flotion

Poetry in motion

Flowing like milk and honey

Sweet sometimes bitter words

Falling from the crease of our faces

Soft sweet tales of a story

That lies upon the voice box of our throats

Vibrates in my tonsils

Flows out of my taste buds

Form on my lips sound waves into the mic

Tune up to those ears

Warming the seats

Sends a surge of heat

Through my hands

And a power within my stomach

As I eat these words and vomit up my soul

As you see it

A movement in my

A  boldness in my voice

An elevation in scene

Musically Inclined Poet Poetic Poetry

Vocally Inclined Poetry Poetic Poet

That sings songs of spoken words

That reverb in the spirits and the minds of many

Poetry in motion

That I speak a speech of poetry

In the words Dr. King

I have a dream that one day young poets and older poets from all different races, backgrounds, and ethnicities will join together hand in hand and Speak Poet Speak!

I have a dream that poetry

Will become the new voice screaming in the streets

I have a dream that poetry will be the new song to sing

A platinum record plastered upon the wall streets

Let poetry ring from the mountain tops of hip-hop

Let poetry ring from the valleys of rap

And Poof!

Chill the back

Shiver the spines

Shake movements in the hands to the form of a snap

Like music to the poets ears

That brings forth a word of truth

Sound to the

Lift every poet and speak

Till earth and heaven ring

Ring with the stories of poetry

Let us poets rise high as the listening skies

Let It be found as the new sound we speak

So speak poet speak.

** Are you looking to be the next poet or performer I spotlight? Please feel free to contact Alex McClain at Alexandra_mcclain1989@yahoo.com and I’ll be glad to feature you and your work. Who’s NEXT?**

About Alex McClain

Writing is a gift of mine that I enjoy sharing with others. What I love more than writing is the actual story, finding others who share the same passion as I do and discovering a certain creative energy in others. This is what keeps me inspired. Finding these people and telling their stories. I'm a senior at the University of North Florida in Jacksonville, fl. I'm a communications major with a concentration in print journalism. If you're interested in contacting me for any freelance work or you're interested in me writing about you for my blog email me at alexandra_mcclain1989@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

