This a recent poem I wrote. I shared it last night at an open mic and felt the need to post it on here and share with my readers. I haven;t shared any of my poetry in a minute, but this one must be shared. WARNING: This poem can get heavy, I hope you feel me and that you’re willing to take this journey with me.

He stared into my brown eyes

said I was beyond beautiful

kissed me and said he loved me.

He was my first

I gave him my heart and soul

we climaxed together,

he said he loved me.

It’s crazy how in an instance

love can loose its innocence

a bittersweet moment when the bliss begins to fade.

Rumors became truth

when gifts became apologies for black eyes and a bruised heart.

But he said he loved me.

Through the cheating and the lies,

the countless tears I cried,

He said he loved me.

Every time we made love,

and made up,

the kisses and the hugs

he said he loved me.

Through fist fights

the long nights

holding me tight,

he said he loved me.

When one night

turned into an expectant 9 months

and now I’m a mommy to be

he said he loved me.

But all of a sudden he wasn’t ready.

Like he forgot it took 2

to create you.

But he said he loved me.

And now there’s a life

contingent upon our unstable love,

questioning if it was God sent from above,

or just one big mistake.

But he said he loved me.

Leaving the clinic,

tears in my eyes

feeling an empty womb, depleted of God’s blessings

He looks me in the eyes and says:

I love you.

11/12/12 -Alex McClain

About Alex McClain

Writing is a gift of mine that I enjoy sharing with others. What I love more than writing is the actual story, finding others who share the same passion as I do and discovering a certain creative energy in others. This is what keeps me inspired. Finding these people and telling their stories. I'm a senior at the University of North Florida in Jacksonville, fl. I'm a communications major with a concentration in print journalism. If you're interested in contacting me for any freelance work or you're interested in me writing about you for my blog email me at alexandra_mcclain1989@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

